Since I have seen it asked…


Why didn’t Obama vote yes or no on the “Sit down and shut up” amendment?

Obama said he did not vote because: “This amendment was a stunt designed only to score cheap political points while what we should be doing is focusing on the deadly serious challenge we face in Iraq…. By not casting a vote, I registered my protest against this empty politics. I registered my views on the ad itself the day it appeared.”

Chicago Sun-Times: Sen. Obama takes a walk

I can’t decide if I agree with that. To me, it almost looks like an easy out. Yet, he said the right thing. The whole thing should never have come up. It was a total waste. And it’s insulting to the First Amendment. So maybe refusing to participate was the best answer.

About Janet Logan

Well educated woman, transgender / transsexual, lesbian, Reiki practitioner, LGBT activist, polyamorous, and eclectic Pagan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.