Why can’t we just be honest with ourselves?


It’s sad that, even if Reverend Gary Aldridge of Montgomery, AL, ever did a decent thing in his life, he won’t be remembered for it. He was so ashamed of his kink, that he died alone engaging in it. And that’s how he’ll be remembered for ever more. Don’t know what I am talking about? happydog has more on the story here. It’s worth your time to click over and read it.

I missed National Coming Out Day this year. I was busy simply living my life. (You may have heard a bit about that.) But if you have ever looked at my LJ profile, you already know anyway. And see, as happydog so eloquently phrased it:

Because at some point we all have to say, “You have to take me the way I am,” and the people who are going to take you as you are have to deal with it. Those that can’t, will take a walk.

I want to say two things. To those of you who can “take me as I am”, thank you from the bottom of my heart. To those who cannot, I only hope that you will try a bit harder. Because, Shakespeare said the same thing, and pretty well, a long time ago. Amazing that some truths will always be true, throughout time.

To Thine Own Self Be True
This above all: to thine own self be true,
And it must follow, as the night the day,
Thou canst not then be false to any man.
Farewell; my blessing season this in thee!

About Janet Logan

Well educated woman, transgender / transsexual, lesbian, Reiki practitioner, LGBT activist, polyamorous, and eclectic Pagan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.