Nobody seems to want to say it….


I will. Jim Watson is showing signs of early dementia.

I cannot understand how I could have said what I am quoted as having said.

That forgetfulness, combined with the offensive nature of numerous recent remarks, leads me to one inescapable conclusion. I’ve seen this before, too many times. You see, in early dementia, besides the periods of forgetfulness, you will also see loss of verbal discretion. They may have thought these things all along, but prior to the onset of dementia, they would never have said them. Often, they don’t even realize they have said these things out loud.

Nobel-winning biologist apologizes for remarks about blacks

[…] Nobel laureate biologist Jim Watson apologized “unreservedly” Thursday for stating that black people were not as intelligent as whites, saying he was “mortified” by the comments attributed to him.

“I cannot understand how I could have said what I am quoted as having said,” Watson said during an appearance at the Royal Society in London.

“I can certainly understand why people, reading those words, have reacted in the ways that they have.”

“To all those who have drawn the inference from my words that Africa, as a continent, is somehow genetically inferior, I can only apologize unreservedly. That is not what I meant. More importantly from my point of view, there is no scientific basis for such a belief,” he said. […]

It’s sad to see a man who contributed so much to our knowledge of ourselves was a closeted bigot. It’s even sadder to see such a one slip slowly into dementia.

ETA: Reaction continues to the comments….

Nobel winner suspended

[…] Nobel laureate biologist James Watson was suspended Friday from his longtime post at a research laboratory and canceled his planned British book tour after controversial comments that black people are not as intelligent as white people. […]

About Janet Logan

Well educated woman, transgender / transsexual, lesbian, Reiki practitioner, LGBT activist, polyamorous, and eclectic Pagan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.