Home from the Caucus


I voted and caucused for Obama. To me, he is the JFK of this generation. He brings people together. That’s what this country needs, to come together again. To see purple, not red or blue. I think he can do that. It helps too that I agree with him on almost all of the issues.

The caucus was chaotic. Many times more people turned out than were expected. My precinct had easily 400 people. I stood in line with a self-described “Obama Republican”. He told me he thought Obama was the only candidate who stood a chance of undoing the damage done to this nation by George Bush. That’s what I see happening with Obama. A nation, once broken almost beyond repair, is now coming together.

My lovely lasarina is a pledged Obama precinct delegate. For those who don’t know, the Texas Democratic Party has a three tier convention system. Delegates elected at the precinct convention (like lasarina) will attend a regional convention. There they will elect delegates to the state convention. Delegates to the state convention then elect the Texas delegates to the national convention. Out of twenty-two total delegates at the precinct level, seventeen, including the aforementioned lovely lady, are pledged to Obama, and five are pledged to Clinton.

In addition to the delegates, an equal number of alternates are chosen. I am an alternate, also pledged to Obama.

Yes, We Can.

About Janet Logan

Well educated woman, transgender / transsexual, lesbian, Reiki practitioner, LGBT activist, polyamorous, and eclectic Pagan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.