I represent that remark….


The unbearable whiteness of being

Stuff White People Like is a satirical blog about a particular segment of Caucasian culture. It’s like an extended “you might be a redneck if” joke recast for a more upscale set. It gently mocks the habits and pretensions of urbane, educated, left-leaning whites, skewering their passion for Barack Obama and public transportation (as long as it’s not a bus), their idle threats to move to Canada, and joy in playing children’s games as adults. Kickball, anyone? […]

Yep, some of this stuff hits real close to home. I never particularly cared for the redneck jokes, because that was where I came from, and I was trying so desperately to escape it. They say “You can never go home again.” I’ve always said “Why would I want to?”

On the other hand, I have no trouble with having pins stuck into my bubble of superiority. And Christian Lander does one hell of a job of just that. Read it. It’s worth the time.

About Janet Logan

Well educated woman, transgender / transsexual, lesbian, Reiki practitioner, LGBT activist, polyamorous, and eclectic Pagan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.