I hate Daylight Savings Time


I admit it. I’m one of those people who always hated Daylight Savings Time. I always feel better, and get more rest, on Standard Time. I put up with it because it saves energy, or so I have always been told. Guess what? That’s apparently not true.

Freakonomics: More Ammunition for People Who Hate Daylight Savings Time

Even if you hate daylight saving time, you tell yourself: Hey, I shouldn’t be so selfish, it’s good for the economy, or for the environment, or for farmers, or something. Right?

Well, um, perhaps not. Consider a new working paper, “Does Daylight Saving Time Save Energy? Evidence From a Natural Experiment in Indiana,” by Matthew J. Kotchen and Laura E. Grant: […]

Read more at the link. You’ll even find a link to the full research paper in question. I have to admit, though, I liked this line by the blog author (Stephen J. Dubner) best:

On the bright side, if President-elect Obama is looking for some quick hits on energy conservation, here’s one that’s all teed up and ready to go: Kill D.S.T.!

I’m all for that one!

digg story

About Janet Logan

Well educated woman, transgender / transsexual, lesbian, Reiki practitioner, LGBT activist, polyamorous, and eclectic Pagan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.