I haven’t raved about Keith Olbermann lately….


So I think I will now. Last night, KO once again spoke my mind, more eloquently than I can. So I will refer you to his words, and simply say that they echo my own thoughts on this matter.

Olbermann: Ruined Senate bill unsupportable – Countdown with Keith Olbermann- msnbc.com

[…] No single payer? No sale. No public option? No sale. No Medicare buy-in? No sale. I am one of the self-insured, albeit by choice. And I hereby pledge that I will not buy this perversion of health care reform. Pass this at your peril, Senators, and sign it at yours, Mr. President. I will not buy this insurance. Brand me a lawbreaker if you choose. Fine me if you will. Jail me if you must.

But if the Medicare Buy-In goes, but the Mandate stays, the people who fought so hard and so sincerely to bring sanity to this system must kill this mutated version of their dream, because those elected by us to act for us have forgotten what must be the golden rule of health care reform. It is the same one to which physicians are bound, by oath: First do no harm.

I am not currently self-insured, but if current trends continue, I likely will be. I respect his pledge to civil disobedience. If I become uninsured as anticipated, I will join him, but not so much for the noble cause. I am one of those who simply cannot afford to buy my own insurance, and yet will not qualify for subsidies. So be it. Civil disobedience it is.

Originally posted at http://wyldraven.dreamwidth.org/545033.html

About Janet Logan

Well educated woman, transgender / transsexual, lesbian, Reiki practitioner, LGBT activist, polyamorous, and eclectic Pagan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.