Shingles update / Barbara update


Doctor was not entirely convinced it is shingles, but she did think it probably is. Problem is it is very rare for it to occur bilaterally. I have it in both ears, as well as a more typical line across my chest from just between the nipples to right shoulder.

She gave me valacyclovir (Valtrex) 1000 mg PO q12h x7 and triamcinolone acetonide cream bid. I’m already on neurontin for my fibro and epilepsy, so the pain is well covered. As a matter of fact, one of the reasons she was confused about it being shingles was that she thought I should already be in agony from the outbreak I have. When I reminded her I was on neurontin, that seemed to explain that anomaly to her satisfaction. In me, my increase in pain at the actual site is minor, while I seem to be having an overall increase in fibro pain. So I am guessing the neurontin is now suppressing the shingles pain and not as available for the fibro. But IANAMD, so take that for what it’s worth.


Barbara is going for another abdominal CT scan today. The doctors still can’t find the reason for her steadily increasing white blood cell count. She has no symptoms other than the lab result. Nothing is growing in the cultures, she has no fever, and she has no abnormal pain. So they are looking inside for any possible problems with the surgical repair.

Originally posted at http://wyldraven.dreamwidth.org/561690.html

About Janet Logan

Well educated woman, transgender / transsexual, lesbian, Reiki practitioner, LGBT activist, polyamorous, and eclectic Pagan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.