A good day


Today was a pretty good day. (Yesterday not so much, but I can’t dwell on the past.) We spent today together as a family, all 6 of us. We hung out watching the History Channel until early afternoon. Then, according to a pre-determined plan, we all loaded into a car, and drove to Bear Creek Park for a couple of hours. The girls played on a big jungle gym / slide contraption, and on the swings, until around 3pm. I only got one fire ant sting, and that in itself is amazing. I’m usually a magnet for those beasts.

After the park, we stopped by the grocery to pick up some things for dinner. I stayed in the car, and all 3 kids stayed with me. See, I strained my ankle rather badly yesterday, and really was not up to fighting the crowds in the store on a Saturday afternoon. So I got some time alone with my grandkids, which is always a good thing for me. We laughed, and giggled, and played silly games, for at least an hour, while Kris and Rebeccah shopped.

When we got home, I elevated the strained ankle, and simply rested while Rebeccah and the two older girls made dinner. They made Rebeccah’s version of Crawfish Etouffee. No, I can’t link you to her recipe. She’s trained as a five-star chef (yes, really), and her recipes are well guarded secrets. Suffice it to say it was as good as any I have ever had. And coming from a creole Cajun such as myself, that’s pretty high praise!

After dinner, we sat down to watch a movie on cable On Demand. We decided on Percy Jackson & the Olympians: The Lightning Thief. It was a fun, family friendly, adventure flick. I mean, really, what’s not to like about demigods, satyrs, centaurs, and Minotaurs?

So yeah, today gets filed under “Good Day” in the memories. Yes, I was in pain a good part of the day. (I do have fibro), and a couple of times, I wished B was there to share the good times, but all told, it was good times.

About Janet Logan

Well educated woman, transgender / transsexual, lesbian, Reiki practitioner, LGBT activist, polyamorous, and eclectic Pagan.
This entry was posted in Good Day, Life, Memories and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.