The netbook is dead. Long live the netbook!


Remember this post from last night? Well, guess what? I managed to resurrect my Acer Aspire One netbook just now. I love Acer. The Aspire One may be a little under-powered compared to full size laptops, but it “takes a licking, and keeps on ticking.” What happened last night was that it got dropped from a height of about 3 feet, and would power on but not attempt to boot. Not even a BIOS screen. It was on battery power when I couldn’t get it to boot.

During one of my periods of wakefulness (yes, I’m still having highly disturbed sleep), I realized that one thing I hadn’t tried was removing all power from the unit, and waiting a few seconds before attempting a reboot. I just tried that, and voilà! It works again. It’s just amazing. So now the insomniac can surf the net in bed again after all.

About Janet Logan

Well educated woman, transgender / transsexual, lesbian, Reiki practitioner, LGBT activist, polyamorous, and eclectic Pagan.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The netbook is dead. Long live the netbook!

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention The netbook is dead. Long live the netbook! | The Raven's Nest -- Topsy.com

Comments are closed.