Pre-Paid Legal Services, Inc.


I signed up with Pre-Paid Legal Services (PPL) back when Barbara was in the hospital, and regretfully, didn’t take advantage of the services. I truly didn’t know what I had, and had really only signed up to help a friend trying to start a business.

In the past few months, I have also helped Rebeccah and Kris get signed up with the service. For those of you who don’t know, PPL is to the legal profession what an HMO was meant to be for the medical profession. For a low monthly fee, you have access to an attorney when you need one for phone consultation, and if deemed proper, letters written.

You get to have a will drawn up for no other cost, and updated annually. Your attorney will represent you for moving violations, if you are sued, and any number of other issues that might arise. They will review any contract you are considering signing at no additional cost.

I mentioned that I regretted not taking advantage of the service while Barbara was still alive. She never updated her will from the version she drew up while two of her three children were still in high school, and we had just gotten together. In all honesty, that was a huge mistake. She didn’t expect to die. We never do. The last will she drew up left everything to her children. After seven years of common law marriage, I am having to give up everything she had that she would have wanted to pass to me.

Don’t let this happen to you too. If you don’t have a will, or it’s not current with your wishes, take care of it as soon as you can. I believe in the service PPL provides, and think everyone should have it. I believe in it enough that I signed up to sell the service myself. If you are interested in signing up with PPL, let me know. If you want to know more about PPL first, go to my PPL site, and watch a movie that explains it better than I can. If you like what you hear, you can sign up right away online, or contact me for a brochure, DVD, or more information.

We buy insurance for our health. We buy homeowner’s insurance. But we don’t insure ourselves against the effects of the legal system. Trust me, as someone who is dealing with that foolish decision on my part daily, you don’t want to be me. Think about it, please.

About Janet Logan

Well educated woman, transgender / transsexual, lesbian, Reiki practitioner, LGBT activist, polyamorous, and eclectic Pagan.
This entry was posted in legal services, Life, PPL and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.