No, we have not found the cause of CFS/ME


Apparently, like many others, I was premature when I wondered Have we found the cause of ME/CFS and FMS? Scientists have discovered that the XMRV positive results were almost certainly a case of lab contamination. Ah, well, on to the next theory, I suppose. Until then, I live the best life I can.

Contamination Invalidates Study That Linked Virus to Chronic Fatigue.

… Towers’ team said the XMRV in the studies that linked it to CFS was from contamination by a laboratory cell line. The sequences from the contaminated cell line and chronic fatigue patient samples were very similar, which is contrary to what scientists would expect from a virus if it were spreading in humans. …

About Janet Logan

Well educated woman, transgender / transsexual, lesbian, Reiki practitioner, LGBT activist, polyamorous, and eclectic Pagan.
This entry was posted in fibromyalgia, Healthcare, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.