I of I


I know some of you are already rolling your eyes at the sugary sweet memory I am about to share, and some of you have no idea what is coming. Thanks to a friend on Facebook, I was reminded today of a litany Barbara and I shared every day, often many times a day. So here goes:

Barbara: I love you.
Me: I love you more.
B: I love you most.
Me: I love you more than most.
B: I love you I of I, so there!

So what is I of I? It’s an abbreviation for “infinity of infinities.” We had a running good-natured philosophical disagreement as to whether the concept of “multiple infinities” had any meaning. I, being the pragmatist I am, said that infinity was the largest there was, and that “multiple infinities” was a meaningless concept. Barbara, being an adherent to string theory, held that every string was infinite, and since there were an infinite number of strings, “infinite infinities was meaningful. So there!”

Seems apropos for yesterday. But as you can imagine, I spent yesterday just trying to forget what holiday it was.

About Janet Logan

Well educated woman, transgender / transsexual, lesbian, Reiki practitioner, LGBT activist, polyamorous, and eclectic Pagan.
This entry was posted in Life, Memories and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.